Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries.


Name Year/Mo. Title Institution Email Address Advisor
Chilcote, Jeffrey 2014 Dunlap Postdoc Fellow University of Toronto jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
Mace, Gregory 2014 Postdoctoral Fellow University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.ucla.edu McLean, I.
Xu, Siyi* 2014 ESO Fellow ESO (European Southern Observatory) sxu@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Holzbauer, Lauren* 2014 Government Employee Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Kulas, Kristin* 2013 Lecturer Santa Clara University kkulas@scu.edu McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
Mills, Betsy* 2013 Jansky Postdoc Fellow NRAO bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Fang, Julia* 2013 Technical Staff MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Kornei, Katherine* 2012 Science Writer; Museum Educator Oregon Museum of Science & Industry kkornei@omsi.edu Shapley, A.
Yelda, Sylvana* 2012 Technical Staff The Aerospace Corporation syelda@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Hainline, Kevin 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher Dartmouth College kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Crossfield, Ian 2012 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellow U. Arizona, Lunar & Planetary Lab ianc@lpl.arizona.edu Hansen, B.
Crockett, Chris 2011 Astronomer; Writing for Science News U.S. Naval Observatory ccrockett@nofs.navy.mil Larkin, J.
Rodriguez, David 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher Universidad de Chile drodrigu@das.uchile.cl Zuckerman, B.
Klein, Beth* 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher UCLA kleinb@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Wood, Matthew 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Parker, Daryl 2010 - - parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Ly, Chun 2010 NASA Postdoctoral Fellow Goddard Space Flight Center chun.ly@nasa.gov or astro.chun@gmail.com Malkan, M.
Do, Tuan 2010 Assistant Research Scientist UCLA tdo@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Mallery, Ryan 2010 Image Processing Scientist Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Tsai, Chao-Wei 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher JPL cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu Turner, J.
Konopacky, Quinn* 2009 Assistant Professor UC, San Diego konopacky@astro.utoronto.ca Ghez, A.
Melis, Carl 2009 Assistant Research Scientist UC, San Diego cmelis@ucsd.edu Zuckerman, B.
Chen, Xi* 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher IPAC/Caltech xchen@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Rice, Emily* 2009 Assistant Professor College of Staten Island erice@amnh.org Mclean, I.
Tran, Tham 2009 - - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Henry, Alaina* 2009 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow Goddard Space Flight Center ahenry@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Mauerhan, Jon C. 2008 Postdoctoral Researcher IPAC/Caltech mauerhan@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Lu, Jessica* 2008 Assistant Astronomer IfA/Hawaii jlu@ifa.hawaii.edu Ghez, Andrea
Wright, Shelley* 2008 Assistant Professor UC, San Diego wright@astro.utoronto.ca Larkin, James
Smith, Erin* 2008 Staff Scientist NASA Ames esmith@hubble.gsfc.nasa.gov McLean, Ian
Currie, Thayne Michael 2007 McLean Postdoctoral Fellow University of Toronto currie@di.utoronto.ca Zuckerman, Ben
McElwain, Michael William 2007 Staff Scientist: Civil Servant Goddard Space Flight Center mcelwain@astro.princeton.edu Larkin, James
Barczys, Matthew Michael 2006 Systems Engineer NASA, Johnson Space Center matbar@mac.com Larkin, James
Hornstein, Seth David 2006 Senior Instructor University of Colorado, Boulder seth.hornstein@colorado.edu Ghez, Andrea
Hicks, Erin Kathleen Strobel* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Kaisler, Denise* 2005 Professor of Astronomy Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
McGovern, Mark Roland 2005 Instructor - Astronomy/Physics Antelope Valley College mmcgovern@avc.edu McLean, Ian
Lo, Amy Shiu-Mei* 2005 Systems Engineer Northrop Grumman Space Technology amy.lo@ngc.com Wright, Ned
Carson, Jennifer Elaine* 2005 Lecturer Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Rhee, Joseph Hakjin 2004 Postdoctoral Researcher UCLA rhee@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, James
Lipscy, Sarah Jane* 2004 Engineer Ball Aerospace slipscy@ball.com Jura, Mike
McCabe, Caer-Eve* 2004 Research Scientist Eureka Scientific Inc caereve@gmail.com Ghez, Andrea
Schwartz, Michael J. 2004 Professor of Astronomy Santa Monica College schwartz_michael@smc.edu Becklin, Eric/ Young. E
Williams, Dawn Rene* 2004 Assistant Professor University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Tanner, Angelle Maria* 2003 Assistant Professor Mississippi State University at876@msstate.edu Ghez, Andrea
Markowitz, Alex G. 2003 Research Astronomer UC, San Diego agm@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Colbert, James Willian, IV 2003 Staff Scientist NASA Spitzer Science Center colbert@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Mainzer, Amy* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE Jet Propulsion Laboratory - McLean, Ian
Glassman, Tiffany Michelle* 2002 Systems Engineer Northrop Grumman glassman@ipac.caltech.edu Larkin, James
Chen, Christine Hsiao-Ching* 2002 Assistant Astronomer Space Telescope Science Institute cchen@stsci.edu Jura, Mike
Meier, David Stuart 2002 Associate Professor New Mexico Tech dmeier@nmt.edu Turner, Jean
Mandrake, Lukas 2002 Research Astronomer Jet Propulsion Laboratory lukas.mandrake@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Crosthwaite, Lucian Patrick 2001 Software engineer Northrop Grumman lpcrosthwaite@cox.net Turner, Jean
McCarthy, Chris 2001 Adjunct Professor San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Lowrance, Patrick James 2000 Spitzer Staff Scientist IPAC/Caltech lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu Becklin, Eric
Webb, Richard Albert 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
Kim, Sungsoo 2000 Associate Professor of Astronomy Kyung Hee University, Korea sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr Morris, Mark
Norton, Aimee Ann* 2000 Assistant Astronomer National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Silverstone, Murray Daniel 2000 Instructor of Physics and Astronomy University of Alabama mdsilverstone@ua.edu Becklin, Eric
Lang, Cornelia Chesley* 2000 Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy University of Iowa cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu Morris, Mark
Schultz, Gregory Ronald 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Patience, Jennifer Lynn* 1999 Associate Professor Arizona State University jennifer.patience@asu.edu Ghez, Andrea
White, Russel Joseph 1999 Associate Professor Georgia State University white@chara.gsu.edu Ghez, Andrea
Schultz, Gregory Ronald 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Chary, Ranga-Ram 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow IPAC/Caltech rchary@ucolick.org Wright, Ned
Evans, Scott Edward 1999 Staff Scientist Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Henney, Carl John 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Mastrodemos, Nickolaos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Gorjian, Varoujan 1998 Spitzer Staff Scientist Jet Propulsion Laboratory varoujan.gorjian@jpl.nasa.gov Wright, Ned
Larson, Samuel Bradley 1997 -- Raytheon Electronic Systems Larsonsbj@cs.com McLean, Ian
Beck, John Gunther 1997 Staff Scientist Stanford - Solar Physics Group beck@fault.stanford.edu Ulrich, Roger
Nelson, Brant Owen 1996 2MASS Staff Scientist IPAC/Caltech nelson@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Baganoff, Frederick Keith 1996 Research Scientist, a member of the Chandra/ACIS Instrument Team and of the NuSTAR Science Team MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research fkb@space.mit.edu Malkan, Matt
Levine, Deborah Anne* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Casement, Lyla Suzanne* 1995 JWST Research Scientist Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Figer, Donald Frank 1995 Professor Rochester Institute of Technology figer@cis.rit.edu McLean, Ian
Wang, Zhengzhi* 1994 Chief Engineer in Flight Control SW Boeing Space and Intelligence Systems (S&IS) zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Macintosh, Bruce Alan 1994 Professor of Physics Stanford University bmacint@stanford.edu Becklin, Eric
Wang, Zhengzhi* 1994 Scientist Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Jeong, Yeuncheol 1994 Research Scientist Korea - Wright, Ned
Pitesky, Jo Eliza* 1993 Staff Scientist Jet Propulsion Laboratory jo.pitesky@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Uchida, Keven Isao 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Webb, Wayne Buell 1992 Staff Research Associate Astronomer; Director UCLA; International Space Systems, The Aerospace Corporation wayne.b.webb@aero.org Malkan, Matt
Barnbaum, Cecilia Syfert* 1992 Professor of Astronomy Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Hyung, Siek 1992 Professor of Astronomy Chungbuk National Universiry, Korea hyung@trut.chunguk.ac.kr Aller, Lawrence
Taylor, Gregory Benjamin 1991 Staff Scientist National Radio Astronomy Observatory gtaylor@nrao.edu Morris, Mark
Gao, Yi-Tian 1991 Faculty Associate / Laboratory Director China - Cline, David
Hawkins, George William 1990 Staff Scientist AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Kaiser, Mary Elizabeth Anne* 1990 Research Scientist Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Kastner, Joel Harvey 1990 Professor Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Korzennik, Sylvain Gereon 1990 Research Scientist Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Likkel, Lauren Jones* 1989 Professor of Astronomy University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Mazzali, Paolo Alberto 1989 Astronomer Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Albano, Richard K. 1989 - - - Coroniti, Ferd
Tomczyk, Steven 1988 Scientist High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
Kim, Dong-Woo 1988 Astrophysicist Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics kim@cfa.harvard.edu Jura, Mike
Wehrle, Ann Elizabeth* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Sun, Wei-Hsin 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Wehrle, Ann Elizabeth* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Dobias, Jan Joseph 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek
Chokshi, Arati* 1986 Professor of Astronomy India - Wright, Ned
Ciardullo, Robin Bruce 1986 Professor of Astronomy Penn State University rbc@astro.psu.edu Jura, Mike
Etzel, Paul Bernard 1986 Professor of Astronomy San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Hawkins, Isabel* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Sakimoto, Philip Jon 1985 Program Planning Specialist Office of Space Science, NASA Headquarters phil.sakimoto@hq.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Meyer, David Michael 1984 Professor of Physics and Astronomy Northwestern University davemeyer@northwestern.edu Jura, Mike
Nolthenius, Richard Alan 1984 Scientist / Instructor Univesity of California Santa Cruz / Cabrillo College rickn@ucolick.org Jura, Mike
Weiland, Janet Leigh* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics Goddard Space Flight Center - Plavec, Mirek
Downes, Ronald Alan 1984 Scientist Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Shafter, Allen Wayne 1983 Professor of Astronomy San Diego State University shafter@proteus.sdsu.edu Ulrich, Roger
Pacharintanakul, Pornchai 1981 Professor of Astronomy Chulalongkorn University Thailand pornchai@sprl.chula.ac.th Jura, Mike
Dumont, Philip 1981 Scientist Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Ulrich, Roger
Keyes, Charles Dayton 1981 Scientist Space Telescope Science Institute keyes@stsci.edu Aller, Lawrence
Polidan, Ronald Sylvester 1980 Scientist Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Burger, Harry Louis 1980 Senior Scientist Toyon Research Corporation hburger@toyon.com Katz, Jonathan
Crawford, Richard Clayton 1980 Scientist Northrop Grumman - Plavec, Mirek
Drake, Stephen Alan 1980 Scientist HEASARC, Goddard Space Flight Center drake@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Kwitter, Karen Beth* 1979 Professor of Astronomy Williams karen.b.kwitter@williams.edu Margon
Price, Christopher Muir 1978 Support Scientist Carnegie Inst. of Washington Obs. - Ford, Holland
Lawrie, David Grahame 1978 Scientist Aerospace Corporation - Ford, Holland
Jacoby, George Howard 1978 Astronomer Giant Magellan Telescope - Ford, Holland
Rainey Jr., George William 1977 Faculty California Polytechnic University gwrainey@csupomona.edu Abell, George
Rhodes Jr., Edward Joseph 1977 Professor of Astronomy University of Southern California erhodes@usc.edu Ulrich, Roger
Eastmond, Thomas Stephen 1977 Faculty Santa Ana Community College - Abell, George
Richard, Ronald Joseph 1975 Faculty Thomas Aquinas College - Abell, George
Peters, Geraldine Joan* 1974 Research Scientist University of Southern California gipeters@mucen.usc.edu Aller, Lawrence
Scalo, John Michael 1974 Professor of Astronomy University of Texas parrot@astro.as.utexas.edu Ulrich, Roger
Oliver, John Parker 1974 Professor of Astronomy University of Florida oliver@astro.ufl.edu Popper, Dan
Elliott, Denis Anthony 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Riegel, Kurt
Bohannan, Bruce Edward 1973 Astronomer Kitt Peak National Observatory bruce@noao.edu Epps, Harland
Fry, Mark Allen 1973 Scientist Air Force Weapons Lab - Aller, Lawrence
Kilston, Steven David 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
Mottmann, John 1972 Professor of Astronomy California Polytechnic University jmottman@calpoly.edu Abell, George
Crutcher, Richard Metcalf 1972 Professor of Astronomy & Department Chair University of Illinois crutcher@astro.uiuc.edu Riegel, Kurt
Krupp, Edwin Charles 1972 Director Griffith Observatory eckrupp@earthlink.net Abell, George
Little, Stephen James 1971 Visiting Professor of Astronomy University of Colorado slittle@casa.colorado.edu Aller, Lawrence
Ross, John Ernest 1971 Professor of Astrophysics University of Queensland Australia ross@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Dworetsky, Michael Moses 1971 Senior Lecturer of Astronomy University College London mmd@star.ucl.ac.uk Aller, Lawrence
Gudehus, Donald Henry 1971 Adjunct Associate Professor of Astronomy Georgia State University gudehus@chara.gsu.edu Abell, George
Zimmermann, Rolf Erik 1970 Faculty Newark State College - Upton
Heap, Sara Ridgway* 1970 Scientist Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Starrfield, Sumner Grosby 1969 Regents' Professor of Astrophysics Arizona State University sumner.starrfield@asu.edu Upton
Straka, William Charles 1969 Senior Staff Scientist Lockheed Martin bill.straka@lmco.com Upton
Leckrone, David Stanley 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired) Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Anderson, John David 1967 Senior Research Scientist (retired) Jet Propulsion Laboratory jdandy@earthlink.net Herrick, Samuel
Lee, William Hung Kan 1967 - US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
O'Mara, Bernard James 1967 Professor of Astrophysics University of Queensland Australia omara@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Hayes, Donald Scott 1967 Scientist (retired) Kitt Peak National Observatory - Whitford
Intriligator, Devrie Shapiro* 1967 - - - Unknown
Carpenter, Roland Le Roy 1966 Professor Emeritus of Astronomy Cal State University Los Angeles rcarpen@neptune.calstatela.edu Aller, Lawrence
Fehr, Uri 1966 - - - Unknown
Winter Jr, Thomas Charles 1965 - - - Unknown
Clarke, William Henry 1965 Professor of Astronomy University of Toronto bclarke@astro.utoronto.ca Aller, Lawrence
Coleman Jr, Paul Jerome 1965 - - - Unknown
Hunter, James Hardin Jr. 1964 Professor of Astronomy University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
Kaler, James Bailey 1964 Professor of Astronomy University of Illinois kaler@astro.uiuc.edu Aller, Lawrence
*- women

Back to Top


Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy

Click to Sort
Name Year Title Institution Email Address Advisor
Arlen, Tim 2013 Postdoctoral Researcher Penn State tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
Dixon, Keri* 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher University of Sussex K.Dixon@sussex.ac.uk Furlanetto, S.
Chow, Yeuk Chun "Ken" 2010 Financial Sector - yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Berukoff, Steve 2009 Assistant Director for Data Products National Ecological Observation Network steveb@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Chen, Eugene 2008 Scientist DecisionNext (San Francisco) eugene@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Howard, Christian 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Celik, Ozlem* 2008 Scientist Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Levenson, Louis 2008 Postdoctoral Fellow Caltech levenson@caltech.edu Wright, Ned
Jarvis, Alexander 2008 Analyst Disney Productions ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Plavchan, Peter 2006 Staff Scientist Caltech plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu Jura, Mike
Farihi, Jay 2004 Assistant Professor University College London j.farihi@ucl.ac.uk Becklin, Eric
Mandrake, Lukas 2002 - - - Coroniti, Ferd
Teplitz, Harry Isaac 1997 Staff Scientist IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Rush, Brian 1995 Senior Navigation Engineer Jet Propulsion Laboratory brush@jpl.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Hurricane, Omar Al 1994 - - - Coroniti, Ferd/Pellat, R.
Hurt, Robert Lewis 1993 2MASS Staff Scientist IPAC/Caltech hurt@ipac.caltech.edu Coroniti, Ferd/Turner, Jean
Albano, Richard K. 1989 - - - Coroniti, Ferd
Punsly, Brian Mathew 1988 - - - Coroniti, Ferd
Moses, Stewart Lee 1986 - - - Coroniti, Ferd/Kennel, C.
Eggum, Gordon Eric 1986 - - - Coroniti, Ferd
Larmore, Lewis 1952 - - - Popper, Dan

Back to Top