Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Name Yearsort ascending Current Position E-Mail Address Advisor
Breann Sitarski* 2016 Member of the Technical Staff, The Aerospace Corporation bsitarski@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Laura Vican* 2016 Science Teacher, Sequoyah School lvican@astro.ucla.edu Zuckerman, B.
Li-Wei Hung* 2016 Night Skies Research Scientist, National Park Service liweih@astro.ucla.edu Fitzgerald, M.
Tom Esposito 2015 Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Berkeley tesposito@berkeley.edu Fitzgerald, M.
Shane Frewen 2015 Physics and Computer Science Teacher, Flintridge Preparatory School sfrewen@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Robin Mostardi Rehagen* 2015 Full-time Faculty, Las Positas College, Livermore, CA robin.rehagen@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Nate Ross 2015 Sr. Systems Engineer 1 , Raytheon nross@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Fred Davies 2015 Postdoctoral Scholar, Max-Planck Institut fur Astronomie (MPIA) davies@mpia.de Furlanetto, S.
Jeffrey Chilcote 2014 Dunlap Postdoc Fellow, University of Toronto jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
Gregory Mace 2014 Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu McLean, I.
Siyi Xu* 2014 ESO Fellow, ESO (European Southern Observatory) sxu@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Lauren Holzbauer* 2014 Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Kristin Kulas* 2013 Lecturer, Santa Clara University kkulas@scu.edu McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
Betsy Mills* 2013 Jansky Postdoc Fellow, NRAO bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Julia Fang* 2013 Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Tim Arlen§ 2013 Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc. tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
Katherine Kornei* 2012 Science Writer; Museum Educator, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry kkornei@omsi.edu Shapley, A.
Sylvana Yelda* 2012 Data Scientist, Gravity syelda@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Ian Crossfield 2012 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellow, U. Arizona, Lunar & Planetary Lab ianc@lpl.arizona.edu Hansen, B.
Keri Dixon*§ 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Sussex K.Dixon@sussex.ac.uk Furlanetto, S.
Chris Crockett 2011 Astronomer; Writing for Science News, U.S. Naval Observatory ccrockett@nofs.navy.mil Larkin, J.
David Rodriguez 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, Universidad de Chile drodrigu@das.uchile.cl Zuckerman, B.
Beth Klein* 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA kleinb@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Chun Ly 2010 NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center chun.ly@nasa.gov or astro.chun@gmail.com Malkan, M.
Tuan Do 2010 Assistant Research Scientist, UCLA tdo@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Ryan Mallery 2010 Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow§ 2010 Financial Sector yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Chao-Wei Tsai 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, JPL cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu Turner, J.
Quinn Konopacky* 2009 Assisstant Professor, UC San Diego konopacky@astro.utoronto.ca Ghez, A.
Carl Melis 2009 Assistant Research Scientist, UC, San Diego cmelis@ucsd.edu Zuckerman, B.
Xi Chen* 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, IPAC/Caltech xchen@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Emily Rice* 2009 Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island erice@amnh.org Mclean, I.
Steve Berukoff§ 2009 Assistant Director for Data Products, National Ecological Observation Network steveb@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Alaina Henry* 2009 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center ahenry@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Eugene Chen§ 2008 Scientist, DecisionNext (San Francisco) eugene@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Jon C. Mauerhan 2008 Research Staff, UC Berkeley mauerhan@astro.berkeley.edu Morris, Mark
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Jessica Lu* 2008 Assistant Astronomer, IfA/Hawaii jlu@ifa.hawaii.edu Ghez, Andrea
Shelley Wright* 2008 Assistant Professor, UC San Diego wright@astro.utoronto.ca Larkin, James
Louis Levenson§ 2008 Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech levenson@caltech.edu Wright, Ned
Erin Smith* 2008 Staff Scientist, NASA Ames esmith@hubble.gsfc.nasa.gov McLean, Ian
Alexander Jarvis§ 2008 Analyst, Disney Productions ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Thayne Michael Currie 2007 NAOJ-Subaru Research Fellow, Subaru Telescope currie@naoj.org Zuckerman, Ben
Michael William McElwain 2007 Staff Scientist: Civil Servant, Goddard Space Flight Center michael.w.mcelwain@nasa.gov Larkin, James
Matthew Michael Barczys 2006 Systems Engineer, NASA, Johnson Space Center matbar@mac.com Larkin, James
Seth David Hornstein 2006 Senior Instructor, University of Colorado, Boulder seth.hornstein@colorado.edu Ghez, Andrea
Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Peter Plavchan§ 2006 Staff Scientist, Caltech plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu Jura, Mike
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Mark Roland McGovern 2005 Instructor - Astronomy/Physics, Antelope Valley College mmcgovern@avc.edu McLean, Ian
Amy Shiu-Mei Lo* 2005 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Space Technology amy.lo@ngc.com Wright, Ned
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Joseph Hakjin Rhee 2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA rhee@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, James
Sarah Jane Lipscy* 2004 Engineer, Ball Aerospace slipscy@ball.com Jura, Mike
Caer-Eve McCabe* 2004 Research Scientist, Eureka Scientific Inc caereve@gmail.com Ghez, Andrea
Michael J. Schwartz 2004 Professor of Astronomy, Santa Monica College schwartz_michael@smc.edu Becklin, Eric/ Young. E
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Jay Farihi§ 2004 Assistant Professor, University College London j.farihi@ucl.ac.uk Becklin, Eric
Angelle Maria Tanner* 2003 Assistant Professor, Mississippi State University at876@msstate.edu Ghez, Andrea
Alex G. Markowitz 2003 Research Astronomer, UC, San Diego agm@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
James Willian, IV Colbert 2003 Staff Scientist, NASA Spitzer Science Center colbert@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
Lukas Mandrake§ 2002 Coroniti, Ferd
Tiffany Michelle Glassman* 2002 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman glassman@ipac.caltech.edu Larkin, James
Christine Hsiao-Ching Chen* 2002 Associate Astronomer, Space Telescope Science Institute cchen@stsci.edu Jura, Mike
David Stuart Meier 2002 Associate Professor, New Mexico Tech dmeier@nmt.edu Turner, Jean
Lukas Mandrake 2002 Research Astronomer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory lukas.mandrake@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Lucian Patrick Crosthwaite 2001 Software engineer, Northrop Grumman lpcrosthwaite@cox.net Turner, Jean
Chris McCarthy 2001 Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Patrick James Lowrance 2000 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu Becklin, Eric
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
Sungsoo Kim 2000 Associate Professor of Astronomy, Kyung Hee University, Korea sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr Morris, Mark
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Murray Daniel Silverstone 2000 Instructor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Alabama mdsilverstone@ua.edu Becklin, Eric
Cornelia Chesley Lang* 2000 Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu Morris, Mark
Ranga-Ram Chary 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, IPAC/Caltech rchary@ucolick.org Wright, Ned
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Carl John Henney 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Jennifer Lynn Patience* 1999 Associate Professor, Arizona State University jennifer.patience@asu.edu Ghez, Andrea
Russel Joseph White 1999 Associate Professor, Georgia State University white@chara.gsu.edu Ghez, Andrea
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Varoujan Gorjian 1998 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory varoujan.gorjian@jpl.nasa.gov Wright, Ned
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Samuel Bradley Larson 1997 , Raytheon Electronic Systems Larsonsbj@cs.com McLean, Ian
John Gunther Beck 1997 Staff Scientist, Stanford - Solar Physics Group beck@fault.stanford.edu Ulrich, Roger
Brant Owen Nelson 1996 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech nelson@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Frederick Keith Baganoff 1996 Research Scientist, a member of the Chandra/ACIS Instrument Team and of the NuSTAR Science Team, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research fkb@space.mit.edu Malkan, Matt
Brian Rush§ 1995 Senior Navigation Engineer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory brush@jpl.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Donald Frank Figer 1995 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology figer@cis.rit.edu McLean, Ian
Omar Al Hurricane§ 1994 Coroniti, Ferd/Pellat, R.
Bruce Alan Macintosh 1994 Professor of Physics, Stanford University bmacint@stanford.edu Becklin, Eric