Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Name Year Current Position E-Mail Address Advisorsort ascending
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Thayne Michael Currie 2007 NAOJ-Subaru Research Fellow, Subaru Telescope currie@naoj.org Zuckerman, Ben
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Chris McCarthy 2001 Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Laura Vican* 2016 Science Teacher, Sequoyah School lvican@astro.ucla.edu Zuckerman, B.
David Rodriguez 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, Universidad de Chile drodrigu@das.uchile.cl Zuckerman, B.
Carl Melis 2009 Assistant Research Scientist, UC, San Diego cmelis@ucsd.edu Zuckerman, B.
Louis Levenson§ 2008 Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech levenson@caltech.edu Wright, Ned
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Ranga-Ram Chary 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, IPAC/Caltech rchary@ucolick.org Wright, Ned
Arati Chokshi* 1986 Professor of Astronomy, India Wright, Ned
Varoujan Gorjian 1998 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory varoujan.gorjian@jpl.nasa.gov Wright, Ned
Amy Shiu-Mei Lo* 2005 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Space Technology amy.lo@ngc.com Wright, Ned
Yeuncheol Jeong 1994 Research Scientist, Korea Wright, Ned
Xi Chen* 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, IPAC/Caltech xchen@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Donald Scott Hayes 1967 Scientist (retired), Kitt Peak National Observatory Whitford
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Tim Arlen§ 2013 Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc. tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Sumner Grosby Starrfield 1969 Regents' Professor of Astrophysics, Arizona State University sumner.starrfield@asu.edu Upton
William Charles Straka 1969 Senior Staff Scientist, Lockheed Martin bill.straka@lmco.com Upton
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown
Thomas Charles Winter Jr 1965 Unknown
Paul Jerome Coleman Jr 1965 Unknown
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Devrie Shapiro Intriligator* 1967 Unknown
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Edward Joseph Rhodes Jr. 1977 Professor of Astronomy, University of Southern California erhodes@usc.edu Ulrich, Roger
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
John Michael Scalo 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Texas parrot@astro.as.utexas.edu Ulrich, Roger
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Carl John Henney 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
John Gunther Beck 1997 Staff Scientist, Stanford - Solar Physics Group beck@fault.stanford.edu Ulrich, Roger
Allen Wayne Shafter 1983 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University shafter@proteus.sdsu.edu Ulrich, Roger
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger
Stephen Alan Drake 1980 Scientist, HEASARC, Goddard Space Flight Center drake@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
David Stuart Meier 2002 Associate Professor, New Mexico Tech dmeier@nmt.edu Turner, Jean
Lucian Patrick Crosthwaite 2001 Software engineer, Northrop Grumman lpcrosthwaite@cox.net Turner, Jean
Chao-Wei Tsai 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, JPL cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu Turner, J.
Robin Mostardi Rehagen* 2015 Full-time Faculty, Las Positas College, Livermore, CA robin.rehagen@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Katherine Kornei* 2012 Science Writer; Museum Educator, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry kkornei@omsi.edu Shapley, A.
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Richard Metcalf Crutcher 1972 Professor of Astronomy & Department Chair, University of Illinois crutcher@astro.uiuc.edu Riegel, Kurt
Ryan Mallery 2010 Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
John Parker Oliver 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida oliver@astro.ufl.edu Popper, Dan
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Jan Joseph Dobias 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy, California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Richard Clayton Crawford 1980 Scientist, Northrop Grumman Plavec, Mirek
Alexander Jarvis§ 2008 Analyst, Disney Productions ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow§ 2010 Financial Sector yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Sungsoo Kim 2000 Associate Professor of Astronomy, Kyung Hee University, Korea sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr Morris, Mark
Jon C. Mauerhan 2008 Research Staff, UC Berkeley mauerhan@astro.berkeley.edu Morris, Mark
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Cornelia Chesley Lang* 2000 Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu Morris, Mark
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Keven Isao Uchida 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Gregory Benjamin Taylor 1991 Staff Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory gtaylor@nrao.edu Morris, Mark
Betsy Mills* 2013 Jansky Postdoc Fellow, NRAO bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Erin Smith* 2008 Staff Scientist, NASA Ames esmith@hubble.gsfc.nasa.gov McLean, Ian
Mark Roland McGovern 2005 Instructor - Astronomy/Physics, Antelope Valley College mmcgovern@avc.edu McLean, Ian
Samuel Bradley Larson 1997 , Raytheon Electronic Systems Larsonsbj@cs.com McLean, Ian
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Donald Frank Figer 1995 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology figer@cis.rit.edu McLean, Ian
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
Kristin Kulas* 2013 Lecturer, Santa Clara University kkulas@scu.edu McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
Sarah Logsdon* 2017 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center sarah.e.logsdon@nasa.gov McLean, I.
Emily Rice* 2009 Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island erice@amnh.org Mclean, I.
Gregory Mace 2014 Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu McLean, I.
Julia Fang* 2013 Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Karen Beth Kwitter* 1979 Professor of Astronomy, Williams kkwitter@williams.edu Margon
Brian Rush§ 1995 Senior Navigation Engineer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory brush@jpl.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Wei-Hsin Sun 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General, National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Brant Owen Nelson 1996 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech nelson@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Frederick Keith Baganoff 1996 Research Scientist, a member of the Chandra/ACIS Instrument Team and of the NuSTAR Science Team, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research fkb@space.mit.edu Malkan, Matt