Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Namesort descending Year Current Position E-Mail Address Advisor
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Julia Fang* 2013 Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Isabel Hawkins* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Richard K. Albano§ 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Joseph Hakjin Rhee 2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA rhee@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, James
Philip Jon Sakimoto 1985 Program Planning Specialist, Office of Space Science, NASA Headquarters phil.sakimoto@hq.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Brian Mathew Punsly§ 1988 Coroniti, Ferd
Stewart Lee Moses§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd/Kennel, C.
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Caer-Eve McCabe* 2004 Research Scientist, Eureka Scientific Inc caereve@gmail.com Ghez, Andrea
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Richard Alan Nolthenius 1984 Scientist / Instructor, Univesity of California Santa Cruz / Cabrillo College rickn@ucolick.org Jura, Mike
Gordon Eric Eggum§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Michael J. Schwartz 2004 Professor of Astronomy, Santa Monica College schwartz_michael@smc.edu Becklin, Eric/ Young. E
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Sara Ridgway Heap* 1970 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Bruce Alan Macintosh 1994 Professor of Physics, Stanford University bmacint@stanford.edu Becklin, Eric
Alex G. Markowitz 2003 Research Astronomer, UC, San Diego agm@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Pornchai Pacharintanakul 1981 Professor of Astronomy, Chulalongkorn University Thailand pornchai@sprl.chula.ac.th Jura, Mike
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger
Yeuncheol Jeong 1994 Research Scientist, Korea Wright, Ned
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
David Stanley Leckrone 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired), Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
John David Anderson 1967 Senior Research Scientist (retired), Jet Propulsion Laboratory jdandy@earthlink.net Herrick, Samuel
Charles Dayton Keyes 1981 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute keyes@stsci.edu Aller, Lawrence
Jo Eliza Pitesky* 1993 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory jo.pitesky@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Keven Isao Uchida 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Ryan Mallery 2010 Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Bernard James O'Mara 1967 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia omara@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Wayne Buell Webb 1992 Staff Research Associate Astronomer; Director, UCLA; International Space Systems, The Aerospace Corporation wayne.b.webb@aero.org Malkan, Matt
Richard Clayton Crawford 1980 Scientist, Northrop Grumman Plavec, Mirek
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Lukas Mandrake 2002 Research Astronomer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory lukas.mandrake@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Devrie Shapiro Intriligator* 1967 Unknown
Siek Hyung 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Chungbuk National Universiry, Korea hyung@trut.chunguk.ac.kr Aller, Lawrence
Roland Le Roy Carpenter 1966 Professor Emeritus of Astronomy, Cal State University Los Angeles rcarpen@neptune.calstatela.edu Aller, Lawrence
Gregory Benjamin Taylor 1991 Staff Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory gtaylor@nrao.edu Morris, Mark
Chris McCarthy 2001 Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown
Christopher Muir Price 1978 Support Scientist, Carnegie Inst. of Washington Obs. Ford, Holland
Yi-Tian Gao 1991 Faculty Associate / Laboratory Director, China Cline, David
Patrick James Lowrance 2000 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu Becklin, Eric
Thomas Charles Winter Jr 1965 Unknown
David Grahame Lawrie 1978 Scientist, Aerospace Corporation Ford, Holland
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
William Henry Clarke 1965 Professor of Astronomy, University of Toronto bclarke@astro.utoronto.ca Aller, Lawrence
George Howard Jacoby 1978 Deputy Director (Technology), Lowell Observatory Ford, Holland
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Paul Jerome Coleman Jr 1965 Unknown
George William Rainey Jr. 1977 Faculty, California Polytechnic University gwrainey@csupomona.edu Abell, George
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Murray Daniel Silverstone 2000 Instructor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Alabama mdsilverstone@ua.edu Becklin, Eric
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Steve Berukoff§ 2009 Assistant Director for Data Products, National Ecological Observation Network steveb@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Thomas Stephen Eastmond 1977 Faculty, Santa Ana Community College Abell, George
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Tim Arlen§ 2013 Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc. tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
Ronald Joseph Richard 1975 Faculty, Thomas Aquinas College Abell, George
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Keri Dixon*§ 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Sussex K.Dixon@sussex.ac.uk Furlanetto, S.
Richard K. Albano 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow§ 2010 Financial Sector yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Dong-Woo Kim 1988 Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics kim@cfa.harvard.edu Jura, Mike
Jeffrey Chilcote 2014 Dunlap Postdoc Fellow, University of Toronto jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Peter Plavchan§ 2006 Staff Scientist, Caltech plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu Jura, Mike
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Gregory Mace 2014 Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu McLean, I.
Wei-Hsin Sun 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General, National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Lukas Mandrake§ 2002 Coroniti, Ferd
Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Siyi Xu* 2014 ESO Fellow, ESO (European Southern Observatory) sxu@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Mark Allen Fry 1973 Scientist, Air Force Weapons Lab Aller, Lawrence
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Lauren Holzbauer* 2014 Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger