Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Namesort descending Year Current Position E-Mail Address Advisor
Steve Berukoff§ 2009 Assistant Director for Data Products, National Ecological Observation Network steveb@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Siek Hyung 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Chungbuk National Universiry, Korea hyung@trut.chunguk.ac.kr Aller, Lawrence
Patrick James Lowrance 2000 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu Becklin, Eric
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
Adam Greenberg 2017 Technical Staff, Raytheon ahgreenberg@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J. L.
Gregory Benjamin Taylor 1991 Distinguished Professor Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, Director of the Long Wavelength Array, UNM gbtaylor@unm.edu Morris, Mark
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Anson Lam 2019 ansonl@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Christopher Muir Price 1978 Support Scientist, Carnegie Inst. of Washington Obs. Ford, Holland
Yi-Tian Gao 1991 Faculty Associate / Laboratory Director, China Cline, David
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
David Grahame Lawrie 1978 Scientist, Aerospace Corporation Ford, Holland
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Murray Daniel Silverstone 2000 Instructor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Alabama mdsilverstone@ua.edu Becklin, Eric
Ryan Sanders 2018 Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Davis rlsand@astro.ucla.edu Shapley, A.
George Howard Jacoby 1978 Deputy Director (Technology), Lowell Observatory Ford, Holland
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Samantha Chappell 2018 schappell@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
George William Rainey Jr. 1977 Faculty, California Polytechnic University gwrainey@csupomona.edu Abell, George
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Peter Plavchan§ 2006 Assistant Professor, George Mason University plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu Jura, Mike
Xinnan Du annadu@astro.ucla.edu
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Matt Buchovecky mbuchove@ucla.edu
Thomas Stephen Eastmond 1977 Faculty, Santa Ana Community College Abell, George
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Lukas Mandrake§ 2002 Coroniti, Ferd
Sean Lake 2017 lake@physics.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Ronald Joseph Richard 1975 Faculty, Thomas Aquinas College Abell, George
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Alexis Popkow 2016 Senior Systems Engineer, Raytheon apopkow@ucla.edu Ong R.
Richard K. Albano 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Brian Rush§ 1995 Senior Navigation Engineer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory brush@jpl.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Jeffrey Chilcote 2014 Assistant Professor, Notre Dame jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
Dong-Woo Kim 1988 Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics kim@cfa.harvard.edu Jura, Mike
Omar Al Hurricane§ 1994 Coroniti, Ferd/Pellat, R.
Gregory Mace 2014 Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu McLean, I.
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Siyi Xu* 2014 Assistant Astronomer, Gemini Observatory sxu@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Wei-Hsin Sun 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General, National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Richard K. Albano§ 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Lauren Holzbauer* 2014 Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Brian Mathew Punsly§ 1988 Coroniti, Ferd
Mark Roland McGovern 2005 Instructor - Astronomy/Physics, Antelope Valley College mmcgovern@avc.edu McLean, Ian
Kristin Kulas* 2013 Lecturer, Santa Clara University kkulas@scu.edu McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
Mark Allen Fry 1973 Scientist, Air Force Weapons Lab Aller, Lawrence
Stewart Lee Moses§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd/Kennel, C.
Betsy Mills* 2013 Assistant Professor, University of Kansas bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
Arati Chokshi* 1986 Professor of Astronomy, India Wright, Ned
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Gordon Eric Eggum§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Julia Fang* 2013 Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan
Joseph Hakjin Rhee 2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA rhee@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, James
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Samuel Bradley Larson 1997 , Raytheon Electronic Systems Larsonsbj@cs.com McLean, Ian
Isabel Hawkins* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Caer-Eve McCabe* 2004 Research Scientist, Eureka Scientific Inc caereve@gmail.com Ghez, Andrea
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Philip Jon Sakimoto 1985 Program Planning Specialist, Office of Space Science, NASA Headquarters phil.sakimoto@hq.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Xuheng Ding 2017 Postdoctoral Scholar, UCLA dxh@astro.ucla.edu Treu, T.
Michael J. Schwartz 2004 Professor of Astronomy, Santa Monica College schwartz_michael@smc.edu Becklin, Eric/ Young. E
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Devrie Shapiro Intriligator* 1967 Unknown
Sarah Logsdon* 2017 Assistant Scientist/NEID Instrument Scientist, NSF’s OIR Lab slogsdon@noao.edu McLean, I.
Richard Alan Nolthenius 1984 Scientist / Instructor, Univesity of California Santa Cruz / Cabrillo College rickn@ucolick.org Jura, Mike
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Roland Le Roy Carpenter 1966 Professor Emeritus of Astronomy, Cal State University Los Angeles rcarpen@neptune.calstatela.edu Aller, Lawrence
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Alex G. Markowitz 2003 Research Astronomer, UC, San Diego agm@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Sara Ridgway Heap* 1970 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Thomas Charles Winter Jr 1965 Unknown
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Bruce Alan Macintosh 1994 Professor of Physics, Stanford University bmacint@stanford.edu Becklin, Eric
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
William Henry Clarke 1965 Professor of Astronomy, University of Toronto bclarke@astro.utoronto.ca Aller, Lawrence
Pornchai Pacharintanakul 1981 Professor of Astronomy, Chulalongkorn University Thailand pornchai@sprl.chula.ac.th Jura, Mike
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Paul Jerome Coleman Jr 1965 Unknown
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
David Stanley Leckrone 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired), Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger