Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Name Yearsort ascending Current Position E-Mail Address Advisor
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Yeuncheol Jeong 1994 Research Scientist, Korea Wright, Ned
Robert Lewis Hurt§ 1993 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hurt@ipac.caltech.edu Coroniti, Ferd/Turner, Jean
Jo Eliza Pitesky* 1993 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory jo.pitesky@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Keven Isao Uchida 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Wayne Buell Webb 1992 Staff Research Associate Astronomer; Director, UCLA; International Space Systems, The Aerospace Corporation wayne.b.webb@aero.org Malkan, Matt
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Siek Hyung 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Chungbuk National Universiry, Korea hyung@trut.chunguk.ac.kr Aller, Lawrence
Gregory Benjamin Taylor 1991 Staff Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory gtaylor@nrao.edu Morris, Mark
Yi-Tian Gao 1991 Faculty Associate / Laboratory Director, China Cline, David
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Richard K. Albano§ 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Richard K. Albano 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Brian Mathew Punsly§ 1988 Coroniti, Ferd
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
Dong-Woo Kim 1988 Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics kim@cfa.harvard.edu Jura, Mike
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Wei-Hsin Sun 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General, National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Jan Joseph Dobias 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy, California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Isabel Hawkins* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Stewart Lee Moses§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd/Kennel, C.
Gordon Eric Eggum§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd
Arati Chokshi* 1986 Professor of Astronomy, India Wright, Ned
Robin Bruce Ciardullo 1986 Professor of Astronomy, Penn State University rbc@astro.psu.edu Jura, Mike
Philip Jon Sakimoto 1985 Program Planning Specialist, Office of Space Science, NASA Headquarters phil.sakimoto@hq.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
David Michael Meyer 1984 Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Northwestern University davemeyer@northwestern.edu Jura, Mike
Richard Alan Nolthenius 1984 Scientist / Instructor, Univesity of California Santa Cruz / Cabrillo College rickn@ucolick.org Jura, Mike
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Allen Wayne Shafter 1983 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University shafter@proteus.sdsu.edu Ulrich, Roger
Pornchai Pacharintanakul 1981 Professor of Astronomy, Chulalongkorn University Thailand pornchai@sprl.chula.ac.th Jura, Mike
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger
Charles Dayton Keyes 1981 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute keyes@stsci.edu Aller, Lawrence
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Harry Louis Burger 1980 Senior Scientist, Toyon Research Corporation hburger@toyon.com Katz, Jonathan
Richard Clayton Crawford 1980 Scientist, Northrop Grumman Plavec, Mirek
Stephen Alan Drake 1980 Scientist, HEASARC, Goddard Space Flight Center drake@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Karen Beth Kwitter* 1979 Professor of Astronomy, Williams kkwitter@williams.edu Margon
Christopher Muir Price 1978 Support Scientist, Carnegie Inst. of Washington Obs. Ford, Holland
David Grahame Lawrie 1978 Scientist, Aerospace Corporation Ford, Holland
George Howard Jacoby 1978 Deputy Director (Technology), Lowell Observatory Ford, Holland
George William Rainey Jr. 1977 Faculty, California Polytechnic University gwrainey@csupomona.edu Abell, George
Edward Joseph Rhodes Jr. 1977 Professor of Astronomy, University of Southern California erhodes@usc.edu Ulrich, Roger
Thomas Stephen Eastmond 1977 Faculty, Santa Ana Community College Abell, George
Ronald Joseph Richard 1975 Faculty, Thomas Aquinas College Abell, George
Geraldine Joan Peters* 1974 Professor (Research) of Physics & Astronomy, University of Southern California gpeters@usc.edu Aller, Lawrence
John Michael Scalo 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Texas parrot@astro.as.utexas.edu Ulrich, Roger
John Parker Oliver 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida oliver@astro.ufl.edu Popper, Dan
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Bruce Edward Bohannan 1973 Astronomer, Kitt Peak National Observatory bruce@noao.edu Epps, Harland
Mark Allen Fry 1973 Scientist, Air Force Weapons Lab Aller, Lawrence
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
Edwin Charles Krupp 1972 Director, Griffith Observatory eckrupp@earthlink.net Abell, George
John Mottmann 1972 Professor of Astronomy, California Polytechnic University jmottman@calpoly.edu Abell, George
Richard Metcalf Crutcher 1972 Professor of Astronomy & Department Chair, University of Illinois crutcher@astro.uiuc.edu Riegel, Kurt
Stephen James Little 1971 Visiting Professor of Astronomy, University of Colorado slittle@casa.colorado.edu Aller, Lawrence
John Ernest Ross 1971 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia ross@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Michael Moses Dworetsky 1971 Senior Lecturer of Astronomy, University College London mmd@star.ucl.ac.uk Aller, Lawrence
Donald Henry Gudehus 1971 Adjunct Associate Professor of Astronomy, Georgia State University gudehus@chara.gsu.edu Abell, George
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Sara Ridgway Heap* 1970 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Sumner Grosby Starrfield 1969 Regents' Professor of Astrophysics, Arizona State University sumner.starrfield@asu.edu Upton
William Charles Straka 1969 Senior Staff Scientist, Lockheed Martin bill.straka@lmco.com Upton
David Stanley Leckrone 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired), Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
John David Anderson 1967 Senior Research Scientist (retired), Jet Propulsion Laboratory jdandy@earthlink.net Herrick, Samuel
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Bernard James O'Mara 1967 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia omara@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Donald Scott Hayes 1967 Scientist (retired), Kitt Peak National Observatory Whitford
Devrie Shapiro Intriligator* 1967 Unknown
Roland Le Roy Carpenter 1966 Professor Emeritus of Astronomy, Cal State University Los Angeles rcarpen@neptune.calstatela.edu Aller, Lawrence
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown
Thomas Charles Winter Jr 1965 Unknown
William Henry Clarke 1965 Professor of Astronomy, University of Toronto bclarke@astro.utoronto.ca Aller, Lawrence
Paul Jerome Coleman Jr 1965 Unknown
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
James Bailey Kaler 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Illinois kaler@astro.uiuc.edu Aller, Lawrence
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan