Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Name Year Current Position E-Mail Address Advisorsort descending
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Donald Frank Figer 1995 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology figer@cis.rit.edu McLean, Ian
Betsy Mills* 2013 Jansky Postdoc Fellow, NRAO bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Keven Isao Uchida 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Gregory Benjamin Taylor 1991 Staff Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory gtaylor@nrao.edu Morris, Mark
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Sungsoo Kim 2000 Associate Professor of Astronomy, Kyung Hee University, Korea sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr Morris, Mark
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Jon C. Mauerhan 2008 Research Staff, UC Berkeley mauerhan@astro.berkeley.edu Morris, Mark
Cornelia Chesley Lang* 2000 Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu Morris, Mark
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow§ 2010 Financial Sector yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Alexander Jarvis§ 2008 Analyst, Disney Productions ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Richard Clayton Crawford 1980 Scientist, Northrop Grumman Plavec, Mirek
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Jan Joseph Dobias 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy, California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan
John Parker Oliver 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida oliver@astro.ufl.edu Popper, Dan
Ryan Mallery 2010 Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Richard Metcalf Crutcher 1972 Professor of Astronomy & Department Chair, University of Illinois crutcher@astro.uiuc.edu Riegel, Kurt
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Katherine Kornei* 2012 Science Writer; Museum Educator, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry kkornei@omsi.edu Shapley, A.
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Robin Mostardi Rehagen* 2015 Full-time Faculty, Las Positas College, Livermore, CA robin.rehagen@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Chao-Wei Tsai 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, JPL cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu Turner, J.
David Stuart Meier 2002 Associate Professor, New Mexico Tech dmeier@nmt.edu Turner, Jean
Lucian Patrick Crosthwaite 2001 Software engineer, Northrop Grumman lpcrosthwaite@cox.net Turner, Jean
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Carl John Henney 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Stephen Alan Drake 1980 Scientist, HEASARC, Goddard Space Flight Center drake@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
John Gunther Beck 1997 Staff Scientist, Stanford - Solar Physics Group beck@fault.stanford.edu Ulrich, Roger
Edward Joseph Rhodes Jr. 1977 Professor of Astronomy, University of Southern California erhodes@usc.edu Ulrich, Roger
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
John Michael Scalo 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Texas parrot@astro.as.utexas.edu Ulrich, Roger
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Allen Wayne Shafter 1983 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University shafter@proteus.sdsu.edu Ulrich, Roger
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Devrie Shapiro Intriligator* 1967 Unknown
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown
Thomas Charles Winter Jr 1965 Unknown
Paul Jerome Coleman Jr 1965 Unknown
William Charles Straka 1969 Senior Staff Scientist, Lockheed Martin bill.straka@lmco.com Upton
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Sumner Grosby Starrfield 1969 Regents' Professor of Astrophysics, Arizona State University sumner.starrfield@asu.edu Upton
Tim Arlen§ 2013 Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc. tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
Donald Scott Hayes 1967 Scientist (retired), Kitt Peak National Observatory Whitford
Xi Chen* 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, IPAC/Caltech xchen@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Yeuncheol Jeong 1994 Research Scientist, Korea Wright, Ned
Ranga-Ram Chary 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, IPAC/Caltech rchary@ucolick.org Wright, Ned
Varoujan Gorjian 1998 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory varoujan.gorjian@jpl.nasa.gov Wright, Ned
Amy Shiu-Mei Lo* 2005 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Space Technology amy.lo@ngc.com Wright, Ned
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Arati Chokshi* 1986 Professor of Astronomy, India Wright, Ned
Louis Levenson§ 2008 Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech levenson@caltech.edu Wright, Ned
Laura Vican* 2016 Science Teacher, Sequoyah School lvican@astro.ucla.edu Zuckerman, B.
David Rodriguez 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, Universidad de Chile drodrigu@das.uchile.cl Zuckerman, B.
Carl Melis 2009 Assistant Research Scientist, UC, San Diego cmelis@ucsd.edu Zuckerman, B.
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Thayne Michael Currie 2007 NAOJ-Subaru Research Fellow, Subaru Telescope currie@naoj.org Zuckerman, Ben
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Chris McCarthy 2001 Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben