Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Namesort descending Year Current Position E-Mail Address Advisor
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Wayne Buell Webb 1992 Staff Research Associate Astronomer; Director, UCLA; International Space Systems, The Aerospace Corporation wayne.b.webb@aero.org Malkan, Matt
Bernard James O'Mara 1967 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia omara@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Richard Clayton Crawford 1980 Scientist, Northrop Grumman Plavec, Mirek
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Jon C. Mauerhan 2008 Research Staff, UC Berkeley mauerhan@astro.berkeley.edu Morris, Mark
Fred Davies 2015 Postdoctoral Scholar, Max-Planck Institut fur Astronomie (MPIA) davies@mpia.de Furlanetto, S.
Tom Esposito 2015 Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Berkeley tesposito@berkeley.edu Fitzgerald, M.
Eugene Chen§ 2008 Scientist, DecisionNext (San Francisco) eugene@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Nate Ross 2015 Sr. Systems Engineer 1 , Raytheon nross@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Robin Mostardi Rehagen* 2015 Full-time Faculty, Las Positas College, Livermore, CA robin.rehagen@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Shane Frewen 2015 Physics and Computer Science Teacher, Flintridge Preparatory School sfrewen@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Stephen James Little 1971 Visiting Professor of Astronomy, University of Colorado slittle@casa.colorado.edu Aller, Lawrence
Seth David Hornstein 2006 Senior Instructor, University of Colorado, Boulder seth.hornstein@colorado.edu Ghez, Andrea
Chris Crockett 2011 Astronomer; Writing for Science News, U.S. Naval Observatory ccrockett@nofs.navy.mil Larkin, J.
Louis Levenson§ 2008 Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech levenson@caltech.edu Wright, Ned
Jan Joseph Dobias 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy, California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek
Tuan Do 2010 Assistant Research Scientist, UCLA tdo@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Quinn Konopacky* 2009 Assisstant Professor, UC San Diego konopacky@astro.utoronto.ca Ghez, A.
Donald Scott Hayes 1967 Scientist (retired), Kitt Peak National Observatory Whitford
Geraldine Joan Peters* 1974 Professor (Research) of Physics & Astronomy, University of Southern California gpeters@usc.edu Aller, Lawrence
William Charles Straka 1969 Senior Staff Scientist, Lockheed Martin bill.straka@lmco.com Upton
Matthew Michael Barczys 2006 Systems Engineer, NASA, Johnson Space Center matbar@mac.com Larkin, James
Varoujan Gorjian 1998 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory varoujan.gorjian@jpl.nasa.gov Wright, Ned
Laura Vican* 2016 Science Teacher, Sequoyah School lvican@astro.ucla.edu Zuckerman, B.
Stephen Alan Drake 1980 Scientist, HEASARC, Goddard Space Flight Center drake@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Allen Wayne Shafter 1983 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University shafter@proteus.sdsu.edu Ulrich, Roger
Donald Frank Figer 1995 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology figer@cis.rit.edu McLean, Ian
Sungsoo Kim 2000 Associate Professor of Astronomy, Kyung Hee University, Korea sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr Morris, Mark
Cornelia Chesley Lang* 2000 Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu Morris, Mark
Angelle Maria Tanner* 2003 Assistant Professor, Mississippi State University at876@msstate.edu Ghez, Andrea
Edward Joseph Rhodes Jr. 1977 Professor of Astronomy, University of Southern California erhodes@usc.edu Ulrich, Roger
Emily Rice* 2009 Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island erice@amnh.org Mclean, I.
Michael William McElwain 2007 Staff Scientist: Civil Servant, Goddard Space Flight Center michael.w.mcelwain@nasa.gov Larkin, James
Jennifer Lynn Patience* 1999 Associate Professor, Arizona State University jennifer.patience@asu.edu Ghez, Andrea
Karen Beth Kwitter* 1979 Professor of Astronomy, Williams kkwitter@williams.edu Margon
Frederick Keith Baganoff 1996 Research Scientist, a member of the Chandra/ACIS Instrument Team and of the NuSTAR Science Team, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research fkb@space.mit.edu Malkan, Matt
Robert Lewis Hurt§ 1993 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hurt@ipac.caltech.edu Coroniti, Ferd/Turner, Jean
Brant Owen Nelson 1996 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech nelson@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Sumner Grosby Starrfield 1969 Regents' Professor of Astrophysics, Arizona State University sumner.starrfield@asu.edu Upton
Thayne Michael Currie 2007 NAOJ-Subaru Research Fellow, Subaru Telescope currie@naoj.org Zuckerman, Ben
John Gunther Beck 1997 Staff Scientist, Stanford - Solar Physics Group beck@fault.stanford.edu Ulrich, Roger
John Michael Scalo 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Texas parrot@astro.as.utexas.edu Ulrich, Roger
David Michael Meyer 1984 Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Northwestern University davemeyer@northwestern.edu Jura, Mike
Robin Bruce Ciardullo 1986 Professor of Astronomy, Penn State University rbc@astro.psu.edu Jura, Mike
Amy Shiu-Mei Lo* 2005 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Space Technology amy.lo@ngc.com Wright, Ned
Alaina Henry* 2009 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center ahenry@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Alexander Jarvis§ 2008 Analyst, Disney Productions ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Breann Sitarski* 2016 Member of the Technical Staff, The Aerospace Corporation bsitarski@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Carl Melis 2009 Assistant Research Scientist, UC, San Diego cmelis@ucsd.edu Zuckerman, B.
James Willian, IV Colbert 2003 Staff Scientist, NASA Spitzer Science Center colbert@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Chao-Wei Tsai 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, JPL cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu Turner, J.
Erin Smith* 2008 Staff Scientist, NASA Ames esmith@hubble.gsfc.nasa.gov McLean, Ian
Tiffany Michelle Glassman* 2002 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman glassman@ipac.caltech.edu Larkin, James
Beth Klein* 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA kleinb@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Sarah Jane Lipscy* 2004 Engineer, Ball Aerospace slipscy@ball.com Jura, Mike
Li-Wei Hung* 2016 Night Skies Research Scientist, National Park Service liweih@astro.ucla.edu Fitzgerald, M.
Lucian Patrick Crosthwaite 2001 Software engineer, Northrop Grumman lpcrosthwaite@cox.net Turner, Jean
Sylvana Yelda* 2012 Data Scientist, Gravity syelda@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Xi Chen* 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, IPAC/Caltech xchen@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
John Parker Oliver 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida oliver@astro.ufl.edu Popper, Dan
Richard Metcalf Crutcher 1972 Professor of Astronomy & Department Chair, University of Illinois crutcher@astro.uiuc.edu Riegel, Kurt
James Bailey Kaler 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Illinois kaler@astro.uiuc.edu Aller, Lawrence
John Mottmann 1972 Professor of Astronomy, California Polytechnic University jmottman@calpoly.edu Abell, George
Donald Henry Gudehus 1971 Adjunct Associate Professor of Astronomy, Georgia State University gudehus@chara.gsu.edu Abell, George
Russel Joseph White 1999 Associate Professor, Georgia State University white@chara.gsu.edu Ghez, Andrea
David Rodriguez 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, Universidad de Chile drodrigu@das.uchile.cl Zuckerman, B.
Shelley Wright* 2008 Assistant Professor, UC San Diego wright@astro.utoronto.ca Larkin, James
Edwin Charles Krupp 1972 Director, Griffith Observatory eckrupp@earthlink.net Abell, George
Jessica Lu* 2008 Assistant Astronomer, IfA/Hawaii jlu@ifa.hawaii.edu Ghez, Andrea
Ian Crossfield 2012 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellow, U. Arizona, Lunar & Planetary Lab ianc@lpl.arizona.edu Hansen, B.
Bruce Edward Bohannan 1973 Astronomer, Kitt Peak National Observatory bruce@noao.edu Epps, Harland
Michael Moses Dworetsky 1971 Senior Lecturer of Astronomy, University College London mmd@star.ucl.ac.uk Aller, Lawrence
David Stuart Meier 2002 Associate Professor, New Mexico Tech dmeier@nmt.edu Turner, Jean
Jay Farihi§ 2004 Assistant Professor, University College London j.farihi@ucl.ac.uk Becklin, Eric
Christine Hsiao-Ching Chen* 2002 Associate Astronomer, Space Telescope Science Institute cchen@stsci.edu Jura, Mike
Chun Ly 2010 NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center chun.ly@nasa.gov or astro.chun@gmail.com Malkan, M.
Harry Louis Burger 1980 Senior Scientist, Toyon Research Corporation hburger@toyon.com Katz, Jonathan
Ranga-Ram Chary 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, IPAC/Caltech rchary@ucolick.org Wright, Ned
John Ernest Ross 1971 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia ross@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Carl John Henney 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Katherine Kornei* 2012 Science Writer; Museum Educator, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry kkornei@omsi.edu Shapley, A.