News Archive

Article

Ben Zuckerman and Hilke Schlichting have co-authored a study suggesting that Earth is not unique: Earth-like planets may be common in the universe.

Thursday, October 17, 2019

David Jewitt has captured the best and sharpest look at a comet from outside of our solar system that recently barged into our own. It is the first interstellar comet astronomers have observed.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

R. Michael Rich has led an international team carrying out a survey for the Haloes and Environments of Nearby Galaxies (HERON) collaboration

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

In a recent article in The Conversation, Brad Hansen discusses what moons in other solar systems reveal about planets like Neptune and Jupiter.

Thursday, October 3, 2019

The enormous black hole at the center of our galaxy is having an unusually large meal of interstellar gas and dust, and researchers don’t yet understand why.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Andrea Ghez, distinguished professor and director of UCLA’s Galactic Center Group, was awarded an honorary degree from Oxford University.

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Please join us to celebrate the academic and scientific career of Mark Morris at MorrisFest 2019 at UCLA September 5-7.

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

UC Observatories memo on the background and history of plans to site TMT on Maunakea in Hawaii

Friday, August 30, 2019

Dr. Tuan Do and collaborators discover a bright and unexpected flare from the black hole in the Milky Way galaxy.

Monday, August 12, 2019

Dr. Beth Klein awarded the American Physical Society's M. Hildred Blewett Fellowship

Monday, August 5, 2019